Goleta Sanitary District

Each of the five governing board members is elected at large and serves a four-year term. Terms are staggered and elections are held in November of even-numbered years. Candidates must be United States citizens, at least 18 years of age and reside within the boundaries of the Goleta Sanitary District. Election procedures and deadlines may be obtained from the Santa Barbara County Elections Division located at 4440-A Calle Real, Santa Barbara, California 93110 or download here from the Assessor's website.  

As part of the District’s commitment to Excellence in Board Governance, in April 2018 all board members of the Goleta Sanitary District were awarded certificates of completion of the California Special Districts Association's three day Special District Leadership Academy. This is one of the requirements for the District to be recognized as a District of Distinction. This honor is bestowed on Districts, their Boards, and Executive Teams for committing to transparency, having sound operating practices, completing comprehensive governance training for the entire Board, and receiving certification of the General Manager in administration and governance best practices. The Goleta Sanitary District earned the Certificate for Excellence in Transparency in 2017 and was awarded the prestigious District of Distinction Platinum level in Fall 2018, demonstrating a comprehensive approach to excellence in district administration and governance. These awards reflect  the level of commitment and dedication to proper governance and transparency at the highest levels by the District's Board and staff.

The 2020 Goleta Sanitary District Board of Directors

      Sharon Rose, President

Boardmember since 2012

Robert O. Wageneck

Appointed July 2017,  he was elected to the Board November, 2018.

Jerry D. Smith

Boardmember since 2008

Steven T. Majoewsky

Served on the board between 1986 and 2012. He was re-elected November, 2014.

George W. Emerson

Boardmember since 1994


Governing Board Standing, Ad Hoc and Other Committees see CA Form 806 dated 01/28/2020

Governing Board Administrative Code dated 7/01/19


  • Steve Wagner, P.E. - General Manager/District Engineer
  • Rob Mangus - Finance and Human Resources Manager
  • Lena Cox - Laboratory and Technical Services Manager
  • Luis Astorga - Collection System Manager
  • Laura Romano - Management Analyst
  • John Crisman - Plant Operations Manager
  • Todd Frederick - Operations Supervisor
  • Chuck Smolnikar - Facilities Maintenance Supervisor
  • Teresa Kistner - Industrial Waste Control Officer
  • Guisel Razo - Administration Supervisor
  • Shamus O'Donnell - Collection System Supervisor
  • Richard Rosenbaum- Safety and Regulatory Compliance Manager


Employee of the Quarter

Braden Stribling

“Braden showed great patience and understanding taking on the role of set design for the 2019 Jurassic Plant Tour Open House. He remained calm and helpful, in spite of having many “bosses” directing him. He serves as an example to other employees of how to model the values of dependability, problem-solving, and creativity. Thanks Braden!”



John Crisman

Employee of the Year

John Crisman

“John has done an outstanding job as the Operations Manager since he assumed the position last year. He routinely contributes to the values and goals of the District by his can-do spirit and positive attitude. John is usually among the first on site whenever there is an emergency situation. John’s communication skills have led to a much-improved working atmosphere among all District employees. John’s innovative thinking and ability to make ideas work resulted in a District savings of over $250,000 in chemical use on an annual basis. John’s ability to promote teamwork, demonstrate exceptional job duties and inspire by example are all reasons he was awarded the Employee of the Year. Congratulations John!”

Mission Statement

We protect public health and the environment through cost effective wastewater collection, treatment and resource recovery to meet present and future community needs.